Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Smoking Post > Cigar Talk

Cigar Talk A place for cigar enthusiasts to discuss our hobby, legal cigars and related stuff.

Old 08-09-2012, 04:17 PM   #1
Rob G
Contributing Editor
Herf God

Seconds

I've been a cigar smoker for a while but I have very little knowledge when it comes to seconds that are sold by many sellers, such as Hoyt's. It seems to me that many of the "seconds" might not actually be faulty, but that there's an overrun and they need to sell them. So they call them seconds and sell them at a lower price. They don't want to lower the price of the original cigar, but they're willing to sell them as "seconds."

Any thoughts to this theory?

Because, seriously, if a company has that many faulty cigars, what's to say that the 1st class cigars are also not problematic?

If people can tell me where to smoke, I can tell them where to go, too.
Rob G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
grtrx
Contributing Editor
Herf God

long ago Lew from JR said they were from both sources - blemishes etc and over runs.

"A sick thought can devour the body's flesh more than fever or consumption." - Guy de Maupassant
grtrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:27 PM   #3
Rob G
Contributing Editor
Herf God

Quote:
Originally Posted by grtrx View Post
long ago Lew from JR said they were from both sources - blemishes etc and over runs.
So, basically, some of them are identical, while others have some cosmetic flaws. But everything else is the same?

I usually smoke in the dark, so I'm really not concerned about how my cigar looks.

Old 08-09-2012, 05:30 PM   #4
Rob G
Contributing Editor
Herf God

Hey, I just noticed that my question about seconds is in the wrong thread. In fact, I had tried to start a new thread regarding seconds. Can a mod fix that please?

Old 08-10-2012, 12:07 AM   #5
grtrx
Contributing Editor
Herf God

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob G View Post