Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Smoking Post > Cigar Reviews

Cigar Reviews This room is for organized blind reviews, individual reviews by CW Members and reviews entered into the database that the Editors feel are particularly well done.

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 02-03-2018, 08:43 PM   #1
jefslat
CW WarCraft God
CW Special Correspondent
Editor at Large
Predominant CW Ambassador
Herf God

Herraera Estelí Inktome

Brand new vitola sent to me as a bonus when I got a bundle of Umbagogs from small batch. Heavily box pressed but seductively smooth, the wrapper and foot smell like walking into a high quality shop’s humidor. Absolutely perfect cold draw. Tonight’s beverage is a Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA.

First few puffs past the butane purge have a very woody flavor, kind of like shopping for lumber at Home Depot. Billows of woody smoke; not what I was expecting but still very good.

Of the woods, cedar is dominant with perhaps mesquite not far behind. There is also a touch of rum in the retrohale. A very complex cigar that is a very good smoke.

By one third I am convinced that this is a very good cigar. It burns even, it doesn’t have hot patches and the construction is immaculate. Perhaps not the perfect match with an IPA, but still a great smoke.

I am most satisfied by the happy little clouds of smoke I get from every draw. Even the retrohale reflects the woody nature of the cigar. It’s kind of a nice change of pace to not have to chase down every flavor note in a cigar with this level of complexity.

A bit of leather smoking chair and a light white pepper note in the retrohale keep the cigar very interesting. The burn continues to be perfect. The ash is firm but taps off easily enough that I am not ashing on myself.

You know a cigar is good when you neglect your beverage for the cigar. During the second third the cedar and leather continue to blend perfectly with the light pepper in the retrohale as an added bonus.