Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Smoking Post > The Cedar Room

The Cedar Room A place for cigar storage and cigar accessories discussions.

Old 03-02-2006, 07:29 PM   #1
Brewha51
Starting Member

What to look for in a quality humidor

I'm fairly new to this hobby. So new in fact, that I don't have a humidor. So that I can be on the lookout for a quality one that fits my needs, can those more experienced than I help a noob out with what to look for? What they like in a humidor? Tell-tale sign of poor ones? Certain websites that carry quality products? Etc...

Thanks to all.
Old 03-02-2006, 07:37 PM   #2
ElkTwin

Welcome to CW! This is a good question for the Cedar Room. You want a box with a decent seal and containing enough cedar or other hydroscopic wood to buffer your humidity properly.
Old 03-03-2006, 04:28 AM   #3
tonycsmoke
Club Member

There are really two kinds of humidors out there. Mass produced and the custom jobs. The mass produced ones you'll find at your local shop and online. There is about 7 or 8 different models and they are good humidors. They hold humidity fairly well and work fine.

The custom jobs are are rock solid - look better than the mass produced ones and are expensive.
If your just starting out - I would go with a mass produced one to begin with. You can always start a coolador as well - if you discount looks, that's cheapest best one of them all.
Old 03-03-2006, 05:04 AM   #4
xrundog
Contributing Editor
Herf Meister

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonycsmoke
...I would go with a mass produced one to begin with. You can always start a coolador as well - if you discount looks, that's cheapest best one of them all.
That's good advice. You can always upgrade later when you have a better idea of precise requirements (wants + needs).

Look around. Post some links to boxes you are considering. We'll give you some input.
xrundog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 04:39 PM   #5
smoore
Contributing Editor