Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Smoking Post > Cigar Reviews

Cigar Reviews This room is for organized blind reviews, individual reviews by CW Members and reviews entered into the database that the Editors feel are particularly well done.

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 02-02-2006, 10:12 AM   #1
Mad Dawg
Administrator
Herf Dog
Herf God

Magus Red Band Robusto

A while back, Pmagus offered to send a Magus sampler to the first 25 people who emailed him, so I decided to take him up on the offer. A week later, I received a sampler of Magus cigars, 2 with red bands and one with a blue band. I'm no expert on the line, so I asked Paul for a little information on them. Here's what he wrote:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pmagus
the Magus line is distinguished by being the ONLY Ecaudorian puro on the market- filler, binder, wrapper- the whole thing is Ecuadorian.
The other thing that makes it unique, is that we roll these with tobacco that is not cultivated on a plantation---it grows wild in the swampy areas of west central Ecuador, This gives the cigar a taste that is simply DIFFERENT than any other cigar.
The red band (regular magus) has a wrapper we bred ourselves- its earthy and rich with great leather notes-- fairly ffull bodied but cool smoking and smooth.
The Magus Blue is a little different- combining the same tobaccos, in different proportions and using an Ecuadorian Sumatra wrapper that imparts a much more peppery character to the cigar.
I took the Magus Red Robusto with me to my duck camp last weekend, and sparked it up Friday afternoon. Paraphrasing my notes:

Wrapper: Nice maduro color, smooth, light sheen of oil. Pretty!

Construction: Nice weight, firm, yet with good draw. No soft spots. Nice.

Pre-light flavors: Toasty, leathery, earthy. Really surprisingly nice for "wild swamp tobacco."