Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Community Centers > I'll Drink to That!

I'll Drink to That! What is your favorite beverage to have with a cigar? Juice? Cola? Beer? Port? Single Malt Scotch? This room is for the discussion of beverages, especially alcoholic beverages that go well with cigars!

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 03-04-2006, 05:01 PM   #1
MalkavianX

A total newbie's thoughts on tequila

So, I stop by frougal macdougal's today by carowinds in south carolina, motsly intending to window shop and pick up a dram if i see somethin on sale....

Well, they had a sample station set up, for two new flavors of Bailey's, Bushmills and Jose Cuervo Black Medallion. I passed on the bailey's flavors, tried the bushmills (not bad, but pricey for my taste) Then just on a whim I tried the Cuervo black (hey it's free )

Now first a little background: In my drinking career I've had maybe a total of four shots worth of tequila, mostly the standard gold label Cuervo that is the love and bane of college students everywhere. At the time I was pleasantly surprised by the mild spicy -sweet taste and filed it away for future reference. My experience with tequila as far as reading basically reads like this: Cheap tequila is the stuff that drinking party nightmares are made of, the expensive stuff makes single malt look cheap. Middle ground? Nothing.

So, I take a sip. Wow. Only coherent sound to come from me in the next 30 seconds was a low whistle, a lot like the one you get when a 67 Shelby passes me on the highway going flat out. I'm tasting spice notes buried in vanilla covered in oak and for the love of all that's distilled its SMOOTH. I looked down forlornly at the half-sip that was left in the sample cup, wishing she'd poured me about 3 fingers in a tumbler instead of a sip in a plastic cup. Finish it. Wow, same sensation.