Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Smoking Post > The Cedar Room

The Cedar Room A place for cigar storage and cigar accessories discussions.

Old 03-08-2005, 10:22 AM   #1
steven24111
Starting Member

Newbie humidor questiom?

I have a question. I am buying a new humidor next week. My first one since I am new to the cigar hobby. My question is should I go for a big one and a travel humidor. Or should I go for a small desktop? Last question would it be alright to store a small collection in a large humidor? I have decided to buy a humidor so which scenario should I go with? Also I introuduced myself in the smoking post if your curious. Thanks in advanced!
steven24111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 10:32 AM   #2
tmvbill

I just bought a Gettysburg from Bargain Humidors(bargainhumidors.com) in their seconds area(about $100). It was a great deal and this humi(according to the DigiHygro) stays at 65% all the time. Just make sure when you get the humi, follow the break-in instructions and you will be set. There are also plenty of break-in threads here in this forum you can read up on. Also get a digital hygrometer. Analogs are not too reliable. If you enjoy smoking cigars so far, I would invest the money in a bigger humi from the get-go. You are gonna need it more sooner than later..
Alot of folks swear by the humi-beads for humidity..I still use a the standard humi brick and a gel-jar to maintain humidity..It works..

As far as the amount of cigars vs size of humi, it doesn't matter. Just keep the humidity right(65%) and its all good no matter the size or amount of cigars..

Take care,
Bill
Old 03-08-2005, 10:42 AM   #3
JustPassingBy
Club Member

can't go wrong with those suggestions! I'd suggest using a normal humidifer (IE foam water and PG) and also using a few shot glass of beads, I've found them to be a great buffer for humidity!
JustPassingBy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 10:49 AM   #4
HamrWebDesign