Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Community Centers > I'll Drink to That!

I'll Drink to That! What is your favorite beverage to have with a cigar? Juice? Cola? Beer? Port? Single Malt Scotch? This room is for the discussion of beverages, especially alcoholic beverages that go well with cigars!

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 09-23-2004, 06:55 AM   #1
TrueBarrel

Stagg '03 v. '04

Did a side-by-side last night undiluted. Although I've been drinking bourbon for some 20 years, feel that I have a pretty good "taster" and can differentiate and recognize all sorts of tastes, I've never been able to pin them down with specific identifyers ala Linn, Jazznut, Jim Murray, Michael Jackson, Dave Broom and others (i.e. I recognize a bunch of separate tastes that trigger taste memories, etc. but am not good at identifying or labeling them). So the below are more general thoughts rather than very taste-specific reviews.

What made comparing these Staggs so difficult was what I find to be the incredible complexity (sometimes almost impenetrably so) of the nose, taste and finish of both - my impressions of each kept changing so much as the boubon opened up in the glass that I could barely pin down one, let alone compare it to the other. I think Jim Murray may have pegged it when he says "Really, tasting notes are pointless in some ways: look for it and you will find it there." Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2004, p. 198.