Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Smoking Post > Cigar Reviews

Cigar Reviews This room is for organized blind reviews, individual reviews by CW Members and reviews entered into the database that the Editors feel are particularly well done.

Old 09-25-2011, 05:15 AM   #1
Broken

Brickhouse Cigars

At my local B&M I occasionally stop at they had a sign up that said the people from Brickhouse cigars would be there last week with a lunch buffet and free cigars. These were about $110/Box at the shop.

This is a JC Newman product and I found out not so new, but new to the shop and new to me. I was interested enough to try them considering I can always use another daily type cigar for under $4 so I stopped in. I wasn't expecting much, and it's probably a good thing.

Being a sales manager I certainly know the value of representing and promoting your brand so when you offer "Free cigars" (though they never said samples) and offer a "Free Lunch Buffet" I have to say I was expecting more than a guy in the back of the shop microwaving hot dogs for the "Free Buffet". I was equally disappointed to find out the "Free Cigar" was only free if you bought three to start with.

I should have left right then, but mostly to not insult the shop owner (who I like and I am sure was equally surprised by this) I did buy three and got my "free" one and home I went.

I didn't get to try one until last night and I was probably a little bias going in based on the experience at the B&M:

Construction is solid enough and it cut clean with my Xikar, not much of a pleasant aroma when I toasted it and the first few puffs were almost bitter with only a hint of decent taste. These were advertised as medium to full flavor and I would say they were medium at best.