Go Back   Cigar Weekly Community Forums and Discussion Groups > Smoking Post > Cigar Reviews

Cigar Reviews This room is for organized blind reviews, individual reviews by CW Members and reviews entered into the database that the Editors feel are particularly well done.

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 05-18-2008, 12:40 PM   #1
bsslack
Herf Meister

Opux X Chili Pepper

Well why not?

Today's date is special for several reasons....

...I) It's L-B's Birthday!

My Twin Brother and I graduated together 28 years ago, today.

3) Mount St Helen's had some serious PMS, also 28 Years ago.(I moved to Oregon within the month)

So, lets smoke a Nice Ceegar, while We watch the Cubs and then the Angels!

This is the first Chili Pepper I've had, but I like an nice Opus as much as the next Guy.

It arrived, in It's own little coffin. Say what You may about The Fuentes, but Carlito clearly understands the value of Quality Packaging and the Details of Presentation.

This modified Perfecto cigar is roughly 5 1/2 inches long and tapers from the bulbous 58 ring gauge foot to a neat right hand addressed nipple cap.

The cigar is dressed with the required OPUS X band, plus the secondary year of production band. This one is a young 2007.

In Appearance the Wrapper of this cigar has a mat or flat finish. A very smooth surface on the Rosado sheath, covering a nicely Bound uniform fill.

Prelight is lovely. The aroma is redolent with White Pepper. Cardamom and fresh grated Nutmeg all surrounded with the grace of Cedar.

MMMMMM

A conservative guillotine clip, reveals a lite draw. That's surprising for a prelight Perfecto.

The Spark? Long wood matches to just glow the tip. Mmm first draw is mostly Wrapper, Nice and spicy. Just like it should be....for a Chili Pepper.

The next few puffs open up the foot to half the ring gauge, which slightly eases the pepper content.

One half an inch in and my tongue already is tingling. That's a surprise.